Split Lip Sunday Night Rumble (on a Monday, again), February 16

candy heart lips2_edited-1

image via Jayme Cawthern

Eventually, I am sure that I will be sitting down to write one of these on a Sunday night, but last night was my 33rd birthday, and I was a little incapacitated (by wine and exhaustion).  So here I am, on a freezing cold President’s Day that is not a three-day weekend at my house (or, rather, it is a three day weekend for my oldest child, which means she’s home, which means I don’t get any time to myself, except these few stolen moments at the computer when she’s playing quietly).

Maybe you’re just hanging out today, avoiding chapped-cheek-and-lip-weather. Maybe you need something to read.  Look no further:

New Issues

-Atticus Review’s Love Stinks issue came out last week and it’s really good (and I don’t just say that because I have a short story in it!).

-It’s not a new issue, per se, but Lockjaw Magazine has an awesome Choose Your Own Adventure project going on, which just launched yesterday.

Contributors Kicking Ass

-Jared Yates Sexton kills it yet again, with a story from his collection featured over at the Good Men Project (previously printed in PANK). Punch-for-Punch happens to be one of this editor’s favorites, so I’m thrilled to see it out in the world.

-Split Lip Press author Julia Kolchinsky Dasbach’s poem, “The Secret to Remembering” is featured over at the Sundress Publications’ blog, The Wardrobe, in this week’s Best Dressed.

Stories I Loved

It was actually pretty fortuitous that I waited to post this today because I fell in love with a story and can’t get out. Go, read Susannah Felt’s piece “Map” at Smokelong Quarterly.

Stay warm–and well-read,

AKM

Comments? What do YOU have to say?

