Our 2015 Turnbuckle Chapbook Contest Winner has a COVER!

Happy Friday, friends! If you follow us on social media (find us on Facebook and Twitter!), you may have gotten to see the sneak peek of Katie Schmid’s upcoming poetry chapbook cover for forget me, hit me, let me drink great quantities of clear, evil liquor but we’re still so excited about it (the cover AND the book) that we wanted to share it again and talk a little about the process:

forget me cover_ 2_edited-1

My sister, Jayme Cawthern is a visual artist who works in a variety of media.  Growing up, we always thought about doing books together–when I finally published one, she’d obviously do the cover (this is still the future plan). I think we once even sketched out a children’s book together sometime in college. I knew she and I shared the same aesthetic and could obviously work well together, so I asked her to work on the cover. I sent her the manuscript to get a feel for the themes of the chapbook, and then I sent the author (Katie) and Jayme some samples of covers I liked. This is where we started.

From there, Katie shared what she liked about the covers/vibe, and Jayme and I brainstormed and mocked up several ideas until we found one we really loved and thought Katie would love too. The cover was created with layered oil pastels and hand lettering (no canned fonts here!). We sent the first draft to Katie with some questions–and she had a few thoughts/tweaks–and from there, we arrived at this final, beautiful draft.

For writers, having your first book is part of THE DREAM. And as an editor, it’s so important to me that the reality of someone’s book look like their dream. It’s important to me to work closely with our authors so they can be as much in love with their book as possible. And it’s important to me to make books that are as beautiful (or dark or wild) on the outside as they are on the inside.

Katie won our Turnbuckle Chapbook Contest for 2015. I’m sharing this process because submissions have opened up for the 2016 Turnbuckle Chapbook Contest.  Not only do you get to work closely on your chapbook (a real book with an ISBN and everything), you also get $100 advance and 20 author copies. And this year’s contest judge is the amazing Sara Lippman, and the entry fee is only $10. The contest is open until January 16, 2016–we hope you’ll send us your amazing books because we look forward to working with you!

SUBMIT HERE.

xx,

Amanda

Comments? What do YOU have to say?

